Page 1 of 2

Two relays and more valves - problem with heating

Posted: 18 Nov 2019, 10:01
by S474N
Let's have this connection:

Home:
-Thermostat with relay (connected to boiler)
  • valve 1
  • valve 2
- Relay from starter pack (without really relay)
  • valve 3
Both relays on same home, but if you increase temperature on "valve 3", nothings happens. In app this valve has fire symbol (that mean, that valve is open), but thermostat relay don't react: no indication light -> no boiler switch on -> no heating.

Re: Two relays and more valves - problem with heating

Posted: 18 Nov 2019, 14:50
by AcidBurn
Hi,

Seems logical for me. Only the valves connected to your Thermostat can trigger the Boiler.
You have to consider the relay of the valve 3 like a separate installation.
If you want that the valve 3 can trigger your boiler, you have to connect the valve 3 to your main thermostat.

The Relay from the starter pack is for specific installation and can only open or close a valve. It cannot start a boiler

Re: Two relays and more valves - problem with heating

Posted: 18 Nov 2019, 18:54
by S474N
No, it's not logical, becouse if you have more rooms (big house), so valves cannot connect to main relay from thermostat (distance, walls,...).

Logical is, if you have all things in ONE home, that all valves in this home can control main relay.

If you don't want this, you can add Starterpack Relay as new home. ;)

Re: Two relays and more valves - problem with heating

Posted: 18 Nov 2019, 20:07
by GEORGzer
You answered your own question there, you created a new home. Therefore this is a complete separate installation.
The starterpack is as the name suggests to „start“ a new home, if no active boiler controls are needed.

What you would need is a range extender für the radio signal. Sadly something like this doesn‘t exist and would be useful to many people here actually.

In your case, if valve 3 can‘t reach the Relais from it‘s current position, you can only try to move the Relais. If you hardwired it to your boiler then the only alternativ would be to wire the Netatmo Thermostat instead, located where your old thermostat used to be, if you had one before.


But you raised an interesting question here: wouldn‘t it be possible with a software change to use starterpacks as extensions.
I‘ll ask around in the beta forums.

Re: Two relays and more valves - problem with heating

Posted: 18 Nov 2019, 20:27
by S474N
GEORGzer: look, if is possible to move relay, then you can move. But this isn't solution. My friend has house with 3 floors. Where he can move relay? :)

There will be only one simple condition: "if relay is in home, than can control thermostat relay". This is only software problem, nothing more.

Re: Two relays and more valves - problem with heating

Posted: 18 Nov 2019, 21:09
by GEORGzer
2nd floor would be my pick ;)

Re: Two relays and more valves - problem with heating

Posted: 18 Nov 2019, 21:58
by S474N
You mean it seriously? ;) As I wrote - this isn't solution. Solution is in SW code.

Re: Two relays and more valves - problem with heating

Posted: 19 Nov 2019, 19:11
by julienwanschoor
Hello,

Are you sure that the trouble comes from a bad network?

have you checked if the operating mode is on COMFORT? in this case, a simple valve can light the chadière.

in the ECO case, only the thermostat triggers the heating




bonjour,

Etes vous sur que le soucis provient d'un mauvais réseau ?

avez vous vérifier si le mode de fonctionnement est sur CONFORT ? dans ce cas, une simple vanne sait allumer la chadière.

dans le cas ECO, il n'y a que le thermostat qui déclencle de chauffage

Re: Two relays and more valves - problem with heating

Posted: 20 Nov 2019, 00:39
by S474N
Of course, it must be "Comfort", to control by valves. ;)

What do you mean about bad network? This problem is same in three different houses ;)

Re: Two relays and more valves - problem with heating

Posted: 09 Dec 2019, 19:32
by S474N
Nothing info from Netatmo team?