Greater Alert Zone Control

Tips, tricks and frequently asked questions
Teamtaylor84

Greater Alert Zone Control

Post by Teamtaylor84 »

Let me start by saying I have no experience in in software/app development, I write this solely from an everyday users perspective.

I find the alert zone set up frustrating. Due to the mounting position/angle of viewing picture, only being able to use square/rectangular boxes of limited size makes it impossible to get full coverage of my driveway without overrunning onto the public footpath/road. Leading to a situation where I either accept that I cannot have alerts for certain areas of my property or I receive frequent alerts for the people/cars walking and driving past my house.

In my opinion the ability to make custom alert zones would be an amazing feature and completely change how my camera works. Again I stress I have no clue about the technical possibilities of this, but I imagine it to work by "drawing" your own custom areas by dragging the outer lines of the zone similar to drawing a straight line on things like Microsoft paint. Alternatively, placing set marker points that then join together?

Anyway, someone far more intelligent than me could think of a better way, but ultimately anything that advances on the basic boxes we currently have would be a vast improvement in my opinion.
Una Real

Re: Greater Alert Zone Control

Post by Una Real »

You make a great point. Unfortunately, it's not a matter of drawing custom areas other than simple squares or rectangles. That would be simple to implement. The problem comes with the recognition algorithm. The current algorithm has serious problems with just simple square/rectangular areas. Imagine how infinitely more complicated custom areas would make things. The current algorithm simply isn't up to it. And don't hold your breath for Netatmo to improve it. I don't think it's within their capabilities.
gnaegi

Post by gnaegi »